Of Election and Contractualization…


Election is fast approaching here in the Philippines. In every corner, every wall or even on the television, you can see faces of aspirants hoping to catch the attention of the public so they can have that coveted seat in the Government. Each of every candidate does have platforms or plans aiming to help eradicate problems of the masses. Some are doable and yet some are dreamy and quite impossible.

Photo grabbed from the net…

Actually, as  I see it, the main problem of my country is the lack of opportunities when it comes to providing jobs for its people. Any job that would feed every starving family, any job that can send every children to school and any job that can give them security when they’re old is a job often missing or hard to chase here in the Philippines. These were the things that politicians in my country used to dramatize when election is drawing near. They act as if they were heroes who would fill the void promising at the expense of their names that if they’ve got the chance to rule then things would be better. Though, I am not judging any of them, sometimes these people can’t keep what they have promised. Those sweet words so enticing and tempting being uttered before election are often forgotten once they’re elected.

Three weeks ago, a slight commotion happened in the company where I am working. Numerous contractual gathered on the locker room bidding their goodbyes to their regular workmates. It was a scene not too pleasant, a scene many of us are afraid of. In one corner I saw a young single mother whining on how she would raise her child on times like this when she don’t have a job anymore. On the other side another workmate was complaining on how he can support his family since he is the breadwinner. Everywhere in that room were faces of sadness and of plight on why at one surprise they have lost their jobs.

Not like us regular employees, contractors have less privilege and are deprived from company benefits. They can stay for a minute and be gone for a second if the company wills it. There was a law that contractual should renew their contracts every three months and another three months depending on the company. In short their tenure is always endangered.I pity those co-workers  of mine who for a year or two have dedicated their service to our company and because of certain predicament our company is facing with just one click they have vanished.

Happy memories with the contractual…They’re not just co-workers but they’re good friends.

If only they were regular employees, if only there were no Contractualization and if only someone with authority can abolish this system then they’re still here working for their families.

Going back to election, I call to mind a certain Senatorial candidate last 2010 election that supported the prohibition of Contractualization.Jamby Madrigal has been bold and intrepid enough to conceptualize a concrete platform, something that would target a certain group of people who are suffering from deprivation of job security. This woman may or may not compete next year for that coveted seat I just hope that what she has started must be pursued.

If someone’s going to ask for my vote this coming election he/she must have a specific plan for the betterment of my country, something that is doable and not just a vague promise.

13 Comments

Filed under MORE OF MINE

13 responses to “Of Election and Contractualization…

  1. let’s all hope for that individual to step up and do the things he/she is capable of doing… hoping for the best this coming election…

  2. Reading your post Bro made me remember why I chose to leave the Philippines even if I really don’t want to. It was both the economic and political frustration that drove me off what I think is still paradise. Our country is beautiful, the people warm, happy, hardworking in general but the job and politics sucks. Pardon my language but wouldn’t you agree? I wish you all the best and for all our countrymen. We need to fight for change and the “trapos” in politics has to go…please lang!

    • Hi Bro,

      I just hope that individuals with ulterior motives may realize the value of that coveted seat on how this powerful thing can change the lives of many..I JUST HOPE that RUNNING FOR ANY POST IN GOVERNMENT must not be for their own cause..it must aim to help the less fortunate people,the people of our country.
      Thanks bro, as always..

  3. I pray for your colleagues who lost their jobs.
    I pray for the Philippines.

  4. sweetbuzz

    Hi john, I’m just curious about the place you are working as of now or what job do you have..You haven’t mention it in any of your post.I’m just quite excited to know.I’m a fan..

  5. Hope all goes well there during the elections. Ours might get contested here. :-(
    Thank you for checking in during the Hurricane… your kind wishes were appreciated!

  6. Great activities you have there John keep it up my friend ,How`s your eyes now?

  7. That’s very brave of you, John. Voicing out issues on politics in the country is a sensitive matter so I take my hat off for doing that.

    I believe I am optimistic by nature but when it comes to politics, I turn out as the opposite. This explains why I haven’t voted yet (at age 30). As long as I see students mindlessly throwing clutters on the streets or as long as I see line cutters on the train platforms being tolerated, my view about politics and its turning-over-a-new-leaf story shall be in continuum.

  8. I admire those with the confidence to vote. As long as there are voters
    goverments will care what the people think.

Leave a Reply

